Summer in Zarautz 2014

// CLICK ON https://vimeo.com/125688310 TO WATCH IN HD IN – I RECOMMEND IT //

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 20.30.23
As the title says, this is my post for 2014 summer in Zarautz (Basque Country) video, 10 days surfing and exploring arround.

I know… It’s a “few” months late, but it has been a long and slow process. When the trip ended I preferred focusing on editing the photos I took. Much easier and faster than editing video, also being able to get a quick feel of all that I had captured.

This video is about the trips highlights and most eventful activities or events, but trimmed down because I had 300 clips. It has been my longest edit in the making with a few months of slow work and also my longest in duration because it’s 11 minutes long. It’s not my typical short really edited video, I wanted a more calm visual rhythm although there is a lot of content packed up in it.

*Note: Yes, in the paragliding part, it’s just as it appears, Lucas walked up to them, one man told him if he ‘wanted to fly’, he said yes, then the others saw him in the air and then we all went up, it was amazing and so unexpected. It was clearly the trips highlight.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 16.57.20 Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 16.58.15    Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 16.59.26

THE VIDEOS TECHNICAL PROCESS 

Below I will be documenting a part of the video making process, and maybe you will learn something new!

THE FILMING

Cameras: Sony RX100 & GoPro Hero 3

The RX100 is my main camera, a good quality and portable camera. I also just love the colors it produces.

The second camera I used was a GoPro, perfect for surfing shots or any water action where also a wide-angle was handy. We didn’t use any mounts for the surf board, altough it can look cool, nobody had it and also it’s pretty typical so we went for GoPro in hand and in mouth (I know it sound weird but the shots look awesome).

As side note, with the surfing, we had a few good waves, but we just took the camera in the water tree days and filming wasn’t our main objective, although I am pretty happy with the edited outcome.

Finally a GoPro Hero2 was used just for a few videos ‘going to the beach’ and a  iPhone in the ‘paragliding preparing shots’  because the other cameras where out of battery.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 20.30.23Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 16.57.50Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 16.58.50

THE ORGANISATIONScreen Shot 2015-04-08 at 16.25.31

I decided to prepare in advance the folders for each day. Separating PHOTOS / VIDEOS and inside RX100 or GOPRO. Transfering everything to a laptop every day and making a safety copy to a portable HDD.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 20.30.23It’s a easy way to organize, but Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 18.18.05not always necessary. I did it because the RX100 shoots AVCHD and those video files are enclosed inside lots of folders where you can’t touch it’s structure or take out videos because it will all get corrupted.

THE EDIT

Screen Shot 2015-04-11 at 16.51.27

My edit layout

My process…

//Before starting some planning can’t kill you:

Organization is the key

-First Clips Look 

It’s pretty obvious. What I did was place all the videos in the timeline and I just went trough everything. People may not recommend this. But in my case thanks to this I could easily visualize all the videos in the timeline and play them fluidly (AVCHD codec is slow and has glitches in video players)

-Color Organization

This helps visually separating the videos, especially when you start to put clips in place and move them around. So I can zoom out and see what is what without thumbnail previews making my computer slow.

Mango (Unique clips) / Pink (Extra videos) / GreenForest (Sequences) / SkyBlue (Surf), GreenCaribe (Skate)…

-Footage Organization and Trimming

I decided to separatethe videos clearly by days and trim them roughly so I could start to get the feel of how will everything work out.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 18.57.44

Early stage of organization

-Music Selection

This is a very important part. Songs will be chosen depending on how you want the rhythm and feel of the video to be. I normally choose them before I even start filming or just have ideas of what songs I will use, in this case I selected some songs after trimming all the videos. I decided to use three songs to separate the contents, the first and the last song have a summer feel to them, really good vibe (by the same musician) and the middle one has lots of rhythm changes and its just epic for the paragliding.

.Song MarkingScreen Shot 2015-04-22 at 21.51.42
It’s placing timeline markers in places of the song. Unique colors depending on the rhythmic beats or in differential rhythm changes. This is really useful to plan in advance how many videos will fit in each part.

The songs in order:

-Placing in Order

Important decision of how all the clips will be displayed. It has all to be clear in advance or nothing will have sense and the ending will be abrupt. You have to think about possible cases in advance…

My video possibilities where: The typical each day one behind the other, a mix of all the clips or separated by topic – place… Well, at the end I followed them all. I knew I wanted to have the events in order, but some days where not that eventful, so some changes and mixing had to be done. I also had the big paragliding part, this part obligatory had to be in the middle with its own song. Leaving all the other content (surf, skate, trips…) for the start and end, being carefull to separate them and mix them well.

ed2

Adobe Premiere Pro CC – Final Timeline

The videos structure:

START: intro, 2intro(field), surf, mix, surf, sunset exploring.  //Song1

MIDDLE: intro (Exploring), paragliding (two parts).  //Song2

END: Skate, surf, sansebastian trip, skate, jumps, slackline and surf.  //Song3

(Recheck the final timeline above, maybe you can now see the order clearly (look at the audio for the songs separation))

-Beat Cutting

Basically recutting and replacing to the beat. It’s a slow and precise process and it will mark the rhythm. (I used as guide all the markers I placed before)

From here it’s just like tetris, depending if the songs structure and length, it will allow to place these or those videos here, make the pace faster or slower, add more effects…

 

-Transitions, Titles and Effects

I always enjoy this part, it’s where you can be creative and give your final touch. I have learnt the bad way not to over do it (yes, by over doing it), but it’s always fun to try things out and think about the endless possibilities arround whatever you want to do.

A big problem I had is my slow computer, it’s just not prepared for 1080 AVCHD video in a timeline full of cuts and effects, being impossible to preview the video easily. I had to be really patient and save manually every second to avoid crashes, having to play selected parts slowly with arrow tabs or even exporting selected parts for the best real preview.

.Transitions

Rotoscoped or others where with zooms

   

.Titles

Just had two, made them with Adobe Flash

   

.Effects

Lots of layers (and in this case feather+crop)

-Audio

One track for the videos original audios and another for the music, the rest for audio effects or layers.

About the music, I had to modify the middle song in various points for make it shorter, but the others I didn’t edit them.

A noob error I did, was not checking all track audio levels, they where too loud ( above the -db limit), so for the acoustic health of people with headphones I leveled all tracks.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 21.51.56

-Color

It was crazy to think I was going to color all the videos but at start I did, At the end i just colored what was only really needed.

On the RX100 I wasn’t filming with a flat look because it’s colors are so good just out of the camera there is no need nearly to color correct (in this case, I just wanted to show the real colors). But on GoPro I decided to switch on ‘ProTune’ to test it out, did some general tweaks for all, but pretty much kept it how it was

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 19.25.51

-Export

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 16.16.52  Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 16.17.14

(Above: the render graveyard)

Render: 4h30

This is the final part, its very imporant you check the settings.
I had to even monitor my Mac from my mobile to check it was all going okay.


Thank you for reading, I hope it was usefull.

Thanks to my friends for leaving me film them and thanks the paragliding people,

It’s been a long process but it’s time to hop on another project!

5 thoughts on “Summer in Zarautz 2014

Leave a Reply

